Meeting: Standards Committee

Date: 6 November 2009

Subject: Appointment of Town/Parish Council members to the Central

Bedfordshire Council's Standards Committee

Report of: Monitoring Officer

Summary: To request Members confirmation of the appointments of Cllr John

Lewis and Cllr Brian Saunders as the Town/Parish Council's

representatives on the Standards Committee.

Contact Officer: Mrs Barbara Morris, Assistant Director Legal &

Democratic/Monitoring Officer

Tel: 01462 611028

Public/Exempt: Public

Wards Affected: All

Function of: Non-executive

N/A

Reason for urgency

(if appropriate)

CORPORATE IMPLICATIONS

Council Priorities:

Contributes to all Council priorities to ensure good governance

Financial:

N/A

Legal:

To ensure high ethical standards are maintained in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000 and Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007

Risk Management:

N/A

Staffing (including Trades Unions):

N/A

RECOMMENDATIONS:

That the Committee approves the appointments of Cllr John Lewis and Cllr Brian Saunders as Town and Parish Members on the Standards Committee.

1. In accordance with the Central Bedfordshire Council's Constitution, the Standards Committee must comprise of:-

Five elected Members
Five independent persons, and
Five members of Town or Parish Councils in the District.

- In order to build upon expertise available, the Monitoring Officer made enquiries as to whether existing Town and Parish Councillors from the legacy Councils would be interested in standing as Town/Parish Council Members for the Central Beds Council's Standard Committee. Four existing Members expressed a wish via Bedfordshire Association of Town and Parish Councils (BATPC) to continue to stand. One seat on the Committee, therefore, remained vacant and BATPC sought nominations on our behalf. A selection process for the vacancy took place on 3 February 2009 following receipt of three applications.
- 3. Councillors Mr J Eilbeck (Steppingley Parish Council), Mr B Collier (Stotfold Town Council), Mrs K Cursons (Leighton Linslade Town Council), Ms J Hughes (Barton-Le-Clay Parish Council) and Ms J Rollings (Caddington & Slip End Parish Council) were appointed.
- 4. Subsequently following the elections in June, Ms J Rollings did not continue as a Caddington and Slip End Parish Councillor. A letter of resignation was also received by the Monitoring Officer on 3 October 2009 from Cllr Mrs K Curson. As a result of these resignations it is necessary to appoint two further Town and Parish Council members to the Standards Committee.

- 5. Having discussed the appointment with BATPC, the Chairman of Standards Committee and the Leader of the Council, it has been agreed that a suggested way forward would be to approach Councillors who remained on our selective list following the interviews in February 2009. Cllr John Lewis is a Potton Town Councillor and has previously served on the former Mid Beds District Council. He has experience of standards matters and was a Chairman of one of the legacy authority Ethics & Standards Committees. In light of this it is recommended that he be appointed as a Town and Parish member on the Standards Committee.
- 6. BATPC were further requested to enquire whether any Town or Parish Councillor on their list from that selection process in February 2009 were still interested in sitting on the Central Bedfordshire Council Standards Committee. On 9 October 2009 BATPC put forward Cllr Brian Saunders who is a Stotfold Town Councillor. Cllr Saunders has been a Town Councillor since 1982 and has served on all the committees of the Town Council. From 2001 to 2008 he was Chairman of the Town Council, and was Vice Chair for 9 years prior to that. The Chairman of the Standards Committee and the Leader of the Council have been informed of this nomination and are in support. In light of this it is recommended that Cllr Saunders be appointed as a Town and Parish member on the Standards Committee.

Location of papers: Priory House, Chicksands